Government | PARLIAMENT

Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries may not be, or stand in for, voting members on committees.

Liberal Platform (Page 32) | October 5, 2015
Dec 2015

Guide for Parliamentary Secretaries

Privy Council Office | December 01, 2015

In light of their Government duties, parliamentary secretaries do not chair standing committees. For the purpose of clarity, a parliamentary secretary cannot be, or stand in for, a voting member of a committee that falls under their responsibility as parliamentary secretary.